The Specials Blue Plate Specials Live 1980

Blue Plate Specials Live is a live album by The Specials.

It brings together two live recordings by the group. The first eight tracks come from around about 1980 but the remainder come from an earlier time when they were probably called The Coventry Automatics or The Special AKA.

This earlier show reveals a transition phase between more conventional rock and their well known ska/reggae sound.

The Specials Blue Plate Specials Live

Songs On The Specials Blue Plate Specials Live

1. Gangstas
2. Do The Dog
3. Stupid Marriage
4. Nite Club
5. Too Much Too Young
6. Little Bitch
7. Skinhead Moonstomp
8. Concrete Jungle
9. Rock And Roll Nightmare
10. Look But Don’t Touch
11. It’s Up To You
12. Jay Walker
13. New Age
14. Blank Expression
15. Wake Up

I haven’t heard this myself but I’ve seen concern expressed about the recording quality. Unfortunately I haven’t seen it available as a digital download so you can’t sample it for yourself to see if it’s acceptable.

A safer bet to buy if you want an early live album by The Specials is either Live at the Moonlight Club or the BBC In Concert album with or without The Selecter as a bonus.


Buying The Specials Blue Plate Specials Live

It is available from

These links will help you get to the albums quickly and easily but I recommend that you still search for the best deal.

What Do You Think?

Is this a great live album?

Is it the best live album by The Specials? Which do you recommend?

The Best Live Albums Of All Time

Please vote in the poll to find the best live ska and 2 Tone albums.

What Are The THREE Best Ska and 2 Tone Live Albums?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

You may also be interested in the polls to find the best new wave and punk rock live albums and the best reggae live albums.

You can see the complete list of readers polls at Live Album Polls

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.