Joe Ely Live Chicago 1987

Live Chicago 1987 is an archive recording on a concert in Chicago by the Joe Ely band while they were promoting the Lord Of The Highways album.

The band was unique for Joe Ely as it features the talents of Bobby Keys on saxophone as a joint soloist along with David Grissom on guitar. If the name Bobby Keys sounds familiar, he has played regularly with The Rolling Stones and appeared on their three classic albums, Let It Bleed, Sticky Fingers and Exile On Main Street.

This has been a popular bootleg and has only been officially released since 2009.

Joe Ely Live Chicago 1987

Joe Ely Live Chicago 1987

Set List

  1. Drivin’ to the Poorhouse In a Limousine – 5:04 (first released on Live At Liberty Lunch from 1990)
  2. Don’t Put a Lock On My Heart – 4:31 ( from the Lord of the Highway album)
  3. Me and Billy the Kid – 3:45 (Lord of the Highway)
  4. Letter to L.A. – 11:26 (Lord of the Highway)
  5. Lord of the Highway – 3:21 (Lord of the Highway)
  6. Cool Rockin’ Loretta – 7:31 (Hi Res)
  7. Musta Notta Gotta Lotta – 3:50 (Musta Notta Gotta Lotta)
  8. Fingernails – 7:38 (Honky Tonk Masquerade)
  9. My Baby Thinks She’s French – 4:15 (Lord of the Highway)
  10. Oh Boy! – 3:31 (cover of the Buddy Holly song)

If you’ve read many of my reviews, you’ll know that I have a bias towards saxophone so this is the best live album from Joe Ely as far as I’m concerned and it’s certainly the first place I go when I want to hear him.

What Other People Say


Buying Joe Ely Live Chicago 1987

It is available from

These links will help you get to the albums quickly and easily but I recommend that you still search for the best deal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.