Ian Hunter Welcome To The Club 1979

Welcome To The Club is the first live album recorded by Ian Hunter after he left Mott The Hoople. It was recorded over seven nights at The Roxy, West Hollywood in November 1979 on the tour to promote the studio album You’re Never Alone with a Schizophrenic.

His band included former David Bowie and Mott the Hoople guitarist Mick Ronson and his fluid guitar solos are one of the big reasons for the popularity of this album.

It’s a much more subtle album that Mott the Hoople Live, with the songs give room to develop. It also includes four new songs recorded live in the studio at the end.

The CD release has seen four new live recordings added to the album – One of the Boys, The Golden Age of Rock ‘n’ Roll, When the Daylight Comes and a Medley of Once Bitten Twice Shy/Bastard/Cleveland Rocks.

Ian Hunter – Welcome To The Club

Ian Hunter Welcome To The Club

Set List

Disc 1

  1. F.B.I – 3:52 (a cover of an instrumental recorded by The Shadows)
  2. Once Bitten Twice Shy – 5:25 (Ian Hunter)
  3. Angeline – 4:56 (from Mott’s Brain Capers)
  4. Laugh At Me – 3:40 (a cover of a Sonny Bono song which Mott did on their first album Mott the Hoople)
  5. All The Way From Memphis – 3:33 (from Mott)
  6. I Wish I Was Your Mother – 6:48 (from Mott)
  7. Irene Wilde – 4:13 (All American Alien Boy)
  8. Just Another Night – 6:03 (You’re Never Alone with a Schizophrenic)
  9. Cleveland Rocks – 6:01 (You’re Never Alone with a Schizophrenic)
  10. Standin’ In My Light – 5:49 (You’re Never Alone with a Schizophrenic)
  11. Bastard – 8:12 (You’re Never Alone with a Schizophrenic)

Disc 2

  1. Walking With A Mountain/Rock ‘n’ Roll Queen – 4:20 (a medley with a song from Mott’s album Brain Capers and an early Mott single)
  2. All The Young Dudes – 3:29 (from All The Young Dudes)
  3. Slaughter On Tenth Avenue – 2:25 (title track of Mick Ronson’s first solo album)
  4. One Of The Boys – 7:36 (from All The Young Dudes)
  5. The Golden Age Of Rock And Roll – 4:01 (From The Hoople)
  6. When The Daylight Comes – 9:00 (You’re Never Alone with a Schizophrenic)
  7. Medley: Once Bitten Twice Shy/Bastard/Cleveland Rocks – 6:10 (see above)
  8. We Gotta Get Out Of Here – 3:14 (studio)
  9. Silver Needles – 5:56 (studio)
  10. Man O’ War – 4:18 (studio)
  11. Sons And Daughters – 5:04 (studio)

Songs come from:

  • Mott The Hoople albums – Mott the Hoople, Brain Capers, All the Young Dudes, Mott, The Hoople
  • Ian Hunter albums – Ian Hunter, All American Alien Boy, You’re Never Alone with a Schizophrenic

It’s a nicely balanced set list celebrating both the old and the new. As Ian Hunter was the main song writer for Mott, there’s little change in style between the two.

The band on this album were:

  • Ian Hunter: Lead vocals
  • Mick Ronson: Guitar
  • Tommy Mandel: Keyboards
  • George Meyer: Keyboards, vocals & Sax
  • Martin Briley: Bass
  • Eric Parker: Drums

Ellen Foley sang on We Gotta Get Out Of Here.

What Other People Say

I haven’t seen it on any best live album lists from the music press but I have seen people nominate it as their favourite live album in forums.


Buying Welcome To The Club

To help you to find the album quickly and easily, I’ve given you the following links::

Is This The Best Mott The Hoople Or Ian Hunter Live Album?

Ian Hunter can’t escape from his past glories in Mott the Hoople so it makes sense (to me anyway) to look across both for the best live albums.

What Are the THREE Best Mott The Hoople And Ian Hunter Live Albums?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

What Are The Best Live Albums Of All Time?

While I included Mott The Hoople Live in the poll to find the best hard rock live album, I’ve included this one in the classic rock live album poll.

What Are The FIVE Best Classic Rock Live Albums? (Click on the links to go to the reviews)

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

You can see the complete list of readers polls at Live Album Polls.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.